What’s something you never believed until you experienced it? [Daily/Weekly Post 005]

by namelesscomet

Intriguing topic. I find things like these very interesting because I think there are a lot of things around us which we do but never really believe in.

And if you need an example I’ll give you a perfect one.

Religion.

It’s interesting that after a Sunday (I’m a Catholic by the way) I’ll find this topic lurking on The Daily Post website. Usually whenever I go to church on Sundays, I use that time to think and reflect. I reflect about things regarding religion itself and not about my sins or anything like that. During those times, I used to think that religion is just something that people made up. No offense to those who really worship and go to church but I for one is a pessimist. Many people say that when they were at their lowest in life, they found refuge in religion or religion made them happy or they found the true meaning of happiness in religion. But my question is, if that is really the case, then why don’t all people who are part of a religious sect or organization experience that kind of trance or happiness?

Relating this to the topic above, I guess I’ll have to say that religion is something that I’ll never believe until I’ve experienced it. I know there is something written in the Bible along the lines that “blessed are those who believe even they have not yet seen..” or something like that but I think I as a person really can’t force myself to believe or have faith in something that I’ve never experienced yet.

Well that’s just me. How about you? Care to share your opinions on this? Just hit the comments if you do have some thoughts.

I really have a lot of things to say but as I’ve said in my previous post, I’m having problems organizing my thoughts nowadays. Sad.

 

P.S.

Please don’t misunderstand me as an atheist or agnostic or whatever. Also please don’t misunderstand me as trying to woo people out of believing in their own religions. I have high respect for every religion on Earth. So high that I even want to study every single one of them. Take note that studying is different from being a part of any of it.

 

Annyeonghi Gyeseyo.